City of Florence, AL Planning Commission

The Planning Commission is comprised of nine members appointed in accordance with the Code of Alabama. Of the nine members, one member is administrative appointee of the city and one member is appointed from the City Council with each serving a four-year term. The remaining seven members are appointed by the Mayor and serve six year terms. The Florence Planning Commission was established by ordinance on May 27, 1940.

The Florence Planning Commission serves both advisory and authoritative roles on long range and regulatory city planning and development including reviewing zoning and land use matters, annexations, subdivision of property, right of ways, alleys, and easements. The Planning Commission also reviews technical considerations such as traffic impact, required public improvements and storm water discharge requirements for new residential and commercial development.

Florence Planning Commission meeting dates, application deadlines, and agendas are available online.