Planning Commission

Florence Planning Commission

The Florence Planning Commission serves both advisory and authoritative roles on long-range and regulatory city planning and development including reviewing zoning and land use matters, annexations, the subdivision of property, and disposition of right of ways, alleys, and easements.

The Planning Commission also reviews technical considerations such as traffic impact, required public improvements such as sidewalks, roads, utilities, and stormwater discharge requirements for new residential and commercial development.

The Planning Commission is comprised of nine members appointed in accordance with the Code of Alabama. Of the nine members, one member is an administrative appointee of the city and one member is appointed from the City Council with each serving a four-year term. The remaining seven members are appointed by the Mayor and serve six-year terms. The Florence Planning Commission was established by ordinance on May 27, 1940.

Scheduled meetings of the Florence Planning Commission for 2022 are listed below. All Meetings are held in the City Auditorium located at 102 Pine Street in Florence. If a change of venue is required, a notice will be posted. Any questions regarding Planning Commission meetings may be directed to the Planning and Community Development Office at (256) 740-8806.

Application Deadline
Before noon
Meeting Date Time Agenda Work Session
Monday, January 3, 2022 Tuesday, January 25, 2022 5:00 p.m.  Agenda n/a
Monday, January 31, 2022 Tuesday, February 22, 2022 5:00 p.m. Agenda n/a
Monday, February 28, 2022 Tuesday, March  22, 2022 5:00 p.m. n/a n/a
Monday, April 4, 2022  Tuesday,  April 26, 2022 5:00p.m. Agenda  
Monday, May 2, 2022 Tuesday, May 24, 2022 5:00 p.m.    
Monday, May 30 , 2022 Tuesday, June 21, 2022 5:00 p.m.    
Monday, July 4, 2022 Tuesday, July 26, 2022 5:00 p.m.    
Monday, August 1, 2022 Tuesday, August 23, 2022 5:00 p.m.    
Monday, September 5, 2022 Tuesday, September 27, 2022 5:00 p.m.    
Monday, October 3, 2022 Tuesday, October 25, 2022 5:00 p.m.    
Monday, October 31, 2022 Tuesday, November 22, 2022 5:00 p.m.    
Monday, December 5, 2022 Tuesday, December 27, 2022 5:00 p.m.