Planning Commission

Florence Planning Commission

The Florence Planning Commission serves both advisory and authoritative roles on long-range and regulatory city planning and development including reviewing zoning and land use matters, annexations, the subdivision of property, and disposition of right of ways, alleys, and easements.

The Planning Commission also reviews technical considerations such as traffic impact, required public improvements such as sidewalks, roads, utilities, and stormwater discharge requirements for new residential and commercial development.

The Planning Commission is comprised of nine members appointed in accordance with the Code of Alabama. Of the nine members, one member is an administrative appointee of the city and one member is appointed from the City Council with each serving a four-year term. The remaining seven members are appointed by the Mayor and serve six-year terms. The Florence Planning Commission was established by ordinance on May 27, 1940.

Scheduled meetings of the Florence Planning Commission for 2022 are listed below. All Meetings are held in the City Auditorium located at 102 Pine Street in Florence. If a change of venue is required, a notice will be posted. Any questions regarding Planning Commission meetings may be directed to the Planning and Community Development Office at (256) 740-8806.

Application Deadline
Before noon
Meeting Date Time Agenda Work Session
Monday, January 2, 2023 Tuesday, January 24, 2023 5:00 p.m. Agenda n/a
Monday, February 6, 2023 Tuesday, February 28, 2023 5:00 p.m.    
Monday, March 6, 2023 Tuesday, March  28, 2023 5:00 p.m.    
Monday, April 3, 2023 Tuesday,  April 25, 2023 5:00p.m.    
Monday, May 1, 2023 Tuesday, May 23, 2023 5:00 p.m.    
Monday, June 5 , 2023 Tuesday, June 27, 2023 5:00 p.m.    
Monday, July 3, 2023 Tuesday, July 25, 2023 5:00 p.m.    
Monday, July 31, 2023 Tuesday, August 22, 2023 5:00 p.m.    
Monday, September 4, 2023 Tuesday, September 26, 2023 5:00 p.m.    
Monday, October 2, 2023 Thursday, October 24, 2023 5:00 p.m.    
Monday, November 6, 2023 Tuesday, November 28, 2023 5:00 p.m.    
Monday, December 4, 2023 Thursday, December 28, 2023 5:00 p.m.